Grapes.jpg
FB_IMG_1667824575742.jpg

CHENIN - REVEALER OF PLACE

2022 EDITION

A unique global conference dedicated to the noble grape varietal, Chenin Blanc, takes place from 1 - 3 November 2022 in Stellenbosch, South Africa. A meeting of academics, wine producers, viticulturists, wine tourism operators, wine writers, sommeliers, trade and influencers will explore and learn, taste and debate, network and also enjoy the unique expressions of Chenin Blanc from around the world.

 

An interactive and multidisciplinary congress filled with cutting edge research presentations, technical tastings of Chenin Blanc wines, engaging vineyard tours and unique wine and food experiences, born from authentic and culturally diverse contexts and landscapes.

 

This 2nd edition is proudly hosted by the Chenin Blanc Association of South Africa in close relationship with the Académie du Chenin, Destination Angers and the City of Angers (Loire Valley, France), proud to have launched and hosted the 1st International Chenin Congress in 2019 in partnership with the Federation viticole Anjou-Saumur, Touraine et Sarthe and Interloire.

SPEAKERS

JamieGoode.png

Jamie Goode is a UK-based wine writer, lecturer, wine judge and book author. With a PhD in plant biology, he worked as a science editor, before starting wineanorak.com in 1999, which became a popular wine website. Since 2005 he’s been the wine columnist for UK national newspaper The Sunday Express, and has written regularly for a range of publications. He is active as a speaker/lecturer and also a wine judge, and is one of the co-chairs for the International Wine Challenge. Goode’s books include the The Science of Wine, Authentic Wine, I Taste Red and Flawless.

Jamie Goode
RosaKruger.png

Rosa Kruger is a vineyard manager for different cellars who designs new vineyard sites and manages existing vineyards for quality wine. She has been doing exactly this for the last 20 years. She travels annually to the most interesting vineyards of the world to keep on learning what it takes to make a good wine.

Rosa Kruger
Gabriel_Lepousez.png

Gabriel Lepousez is a French neuroscientist and an international expert on sensory perception and brain plasticity. He received his doctorate in Neuroscience from the Paris Sorbonne University, and hold a research position at Institut Pasteur in the Perception and Memory Lab.

As a wine enthusiast, Gabriel also offers his scientific expertise to the world of wine education, sharing his extensive knowledge of the brain in the context of wine tasting.In addition to international lectures and regular contribution to wine education programs, he has co-founded in 2016 L’Ecole du Nez, a neuro-sensory training for wine professionals to understand how the brain works during wine tasting and how to improve our sensory performance. He is a member of the Amorim Academy since 2018. In 2022, he joined the tasting committee of La Revue du Vin de France magazine.

Gabriel Lepousez
JohannBurger.png

Johan Burger is a Professor in the Genetics Department at Stellenbosch University where he teaches molecular genetics at undergraduate level. His research team comprises of several postgraduate students, post-doctoral fellows and a senior researcher. Current research is focussed on the molecular characterisation of plant-pathogen interactions, and his research group is internationally recognised for their work on the aetiology of virus and virus-like diseases of grapevine and fruit crops, genome sequencing of grapevine cultivars, and lately, the application of genome editing technologies to introduce tolerance to abiotic and biotic stresses in a number of food and fruit crops. Several of these research projects are in collaboration with international consortiums.

Johann Burger
PatriceThis.png

Patrice This is research director at INRAE (French National Research Institute for Agriculture, Nutrition and Environment, formerly INRA), an international expert on grape genetic diversity, domestication and the analysis of genetic basis of agricultural traits. He devotes now to the analysis of intra and intervarietal genetic diversity at the whole genome level using genome sequence data.

Patrice This
VirginieGrondain.png

Technician at the French Institute of Vine and Wine at the Pôle Val de Loire-Centre. Works on the conservation of grape varieties, the selection of new clones, the creation of varieties and the distribution of plant material.

Virginie Grondain
Tara.png

Tara Southey, currently driving TerraClim and passionate about climate and plant responses. She has in time gained the skills of an agro meteorologist.  

Her PhD transitioned into a translation PostDoctral position driving the wine industries flagship project TerraClim, which is to better understand the unique climate dynamics in the Western Cape, she is involved in building an integrated climate, GIS, Remote Sensing and crop database, to provide farmers with decision making tools for climate resilience.

Tara Southey
JonathanSteyn.png

Jonathan's qualifications include an international masters in wine business management and marketing and a PhD (Business Administration) from UCT GSB. He convenes and teaches on the executive wine business and hospitality leadership programmes at UCT GSB as well as other local and visiting postgraduate and undergraduate programmes. Research interests include strategic marketing, consumer behaviour, global marketing and trade, collaborative innovation, and meta-organisational strategy. Jonathan runs collaborative wine industry research at UCT GSB, and his opinion pieces regularly appear in mainstream business media such as Business Day. As a former restaurants director, wine and restaurant judge, and magazine columnist he is a global wine and hospitality industry expert. As a business and marketing strategist, Jonathan helps meta-organisations through his strategy agency Collectivantage.

Jonathan Steyn
WesselduToit.png

Prof Wessel du Toit is the current chair and  teaches wine production and wine chemistry at the  Department of Viticulture and Oenology, Stellenbosch University. His research focusses mostly on oxidation in wine, sensory analyses of wine and phenolics in red wines. He has international collaborations with several international Universities. Prof Du Toit has managed a number of research projects in which Chenin Blanc was investigated, which included sulphur compounds and their role played in this cultivar wine.

Wessel du Toit
Melane Vivier.png

Prof Melané Vivier is Professor in the South African Grape and Wine Research institute and the Department of Viticulture and Oenology of Stellenbosch University, South Africa. She is program leader of the Grapevine Molecular Biology and Biotechnology group and interim director of the South African Grape and Wine Research Institute at Stellenbosch University. Her research group focuses on integrative research, where the processes under study are evaluated in a systems approach with a current focus on Molecular and metabolite profiling of grapevines in vineyard settings.

Melané Vivier
TalithaVenter.png

Ms Talitha Venter is currently a Junior Lecturer in Viticulture at the Department of Viticulture and Oenology, Stellenbosch University. She has a strong industry background having been involved in vineyard management for 10 years and uses this experience in teaching practical viticulture. Her research focus is digital viticulture and she has been involved in management of project in this field over the past three years. Ms Venter is currently busy with a PhD in viticulture working on non-destructive quality assessment of table grapes. She was and continues to be involved in the re-establishment and management of the Welgevallen Training and Research Vineyards at Stellenbosch University. Chenin blanc is a core component in these vineyards: one vineyard planted to Chenin blanc is dedicated to demonstrating various trellis systems and the cultivar is also included in a fit-for-purpose irrigation research vineyard.  

Talitha Venter
Marisah Nieuwoudt.png

Marisah Nieuwoudt is the Wine Tourism Manager at Vinpro, her key roles are business development, research, marketing and advocacy. She is an experienced tourism researcher and marketer with a background in communication, media and trade relations and digital account management. Marisah completed her Bachelor of Technology, B-Tech Tourism Management (cum laude) at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) as well as a module towards her Master’s Degree in Geography of Tourism (cum laude) at Stellenbosch University. She was selected in 2016 as jury member for the United Nations World Tourism Organisation (UNWTO) Awards for Excellence and serves on the South African Wine Routes Forum and the steering committee of the Great Wine Capitals.

Marisah Niewoudt
JanineBrand.png

Dr Jeanne Brand holds a PhD in wine biotechnology (focus: wine sensory evaluation) from the University of Stellenbosch. Her field of expertise is the development and modification of rapid sensory methods tailor-made for wine evaluation. She has an interest in combining different types of sensory data with quality, consumer, and chemical data through advanced statistical analysis. Providing fit-for-purpose sensory solutions, based on scientific research, to the wine industry is one of her ongoing aspirations.

Jeanne Brand
EtienneNeethling.png

Originally from South Africa where he studied viticulture and enology at the University of Stellenbosch, Etienne Neethling came to France in 2008 to complete his masters and doctoral studies. Etienne Neethling is today a lecturer researcher at the Ecole Supérieure d'Agricultures in Angers, developing research work on adapting the wine sector to climate change. He is also the head of the international master program in vine, wine and terroir management and an OIV expert within the ENVIRO group.

Etienne Neethling

Prof Stephanie Midgley holds an MSc(Agric) in Horticultural Science from Stellenbosch University, and a PhD in Botany from the University of Cape Town (UCT). She has over 30 years’ experience in research and policy on climate change and its impacts on agriculture in South Africa and the Southern African region. Her main field of research expertise is agricultural production technologies to improve yield, product quality and water use efficiency and to reduce climate risk. She was the project leader for the development of the SmartAgri Plan for the Western Cape agricultural sector.

In January 2021 Prof Midgley was appointed as Scientist for Climate Change and Risk Assessment at the Western Cape Department of Agriculture. She is associated with Stellenbosch University as an Extraordinary Associate Professor in the AgriScience Faculty. In her current role, Prof Midgley works on climate change and its impacts on the broader agricultural sector, and how Climate Smart Agriculture and sustainable natural resource use can help to build on-farm resilience.

Stephanie Midgley
Stefanie.png

Prof Stephanie Midgley holds an MSc(Agric) in Horticultural Science from Stellenbosch University, and a PhD in Botany from the University of Cape Town (UCT). She has over 30 years’ experience in research and policy on climate change and its impacts on agriculture in South Africa and the Southern African region. Her main field of research expertise is agricultural production technologies to improve yield, product quality and water use efficiency and to reduce climate risk. She was the project leader for the development of the SmartAgri Plan for the Western Cape agricultural sector.

In January 2021 Prof Midgley was appointed as Scientist for Climate Change and Risk Assessment at the Western Cape Department of Agriculture. She is associated with Stellenbosch University as an Extraordinary Associate Professor in the AgriScience Faculty. In her current role, Prof Midgley works on climate change and its impacts on the broader agricultural sector, and how Climate Smart Agriculture and sustainable natural resource use can help to build on-farm resilience.

Stephanie Midgley
HeleneNiewoudt.png

Dr Helene Nieuwoudt is  a senior researcher (external in 2022) attached to the South African Grape and Wine Research Institute, Department of Viticulture and Oenology, Stellenbosch University. She actively collaborates with the Chenin Blanc Association. Dr Nieuwoudt has managed industry-funded research projects on Chenin blanc for more than 10 years, covering a range of topics. In collaboration with her international research network, papers and conference presentations on Chenin blanc wine flavour chemistry,  data processing, wine sensory characteristics, and consumers’ perceptions were published.   Her present research focuses on the Chenin blanc aroma wheel and sensory perceptions by non-English speaking Chenin blanc wine drinkers.

Hélène Niewoudt

PARTNERS

The partners of the 2nd Chenin Blanc International Congress bring together experts and players from the wine growing regions of South Africa, scientists, academics, trade, wine writers, wine tourism experts and sommeliers with counterparts from countries such as France, Australia, California, India and Israel amongst others to discuss and debate, explore and learn and ultimately experience the unique expressions of Chenin from around the world. This includes special delegations from the Loire Valley, France the ancestral home of the Chenin Blanc varietal.

st

1

22

26

th

In vineyard coverage in South Africa, the world’s leading producer of Chenin
Producer countries
World grape variety

Sources: InterLoire, France AgriMer

1-3 NOVEMBre 2022

2nd chenin blanc international congress

#CHENINCONGRESS

Grapes.jpg

LE CHENIN BLANC - RÉVÉLATEUR DE LIEU

EDITION 2022

Un congrès mondial unique consacré au cépage noble, le Chenin Blanc, aura lieu du 1er au 3 novembre 2022 à Stellenbosch, en Afrique du Sud. Trois jours pendant lesquels chercheurs, viticulteurs, producteurs de vin, professionnels du tourisme du vin, critiques de vin, sommeliers, représentants commerciaux et influenceurs exploreront, s’informeront, dégusteront et débattront tout en profitant du Chenin Blanc sous toutes ses formes, provenant du monde entier.

 

C’est un congrès interactif et multidisciplinaire où les congressistes auront l’occasion d’assister à des présentations de recherches de pointe, de participer à des dégustations de vin présentées par des professionnels, de visiter des vignobles et de savourer la gastronomie locale. Tout cela dans un contexte culturellement diverse et au cœur dun paysage à couper le souffle.

 

Ce deuxième congrès est organisé par la Chenin Blanc Association d’Afrique du Sud en coopération étroite avec l’Académie du Chenin, Destination Angers et la ville d’Angers (Pays de la Loire, France). Le premier Congrès International du Chenin Blanc, organisé en partenariat avec la Fédération viticole Anjou-Saumur, Touraine et Sarthe et Interloire, a eu lieu en 2019.

GRANDS TÉMOINS

JamieGoode.png

Auteur, blogueur, professeur et docteur en biologie végétale, Jamie Goode travaille comme rédacteur scientifique avant de lancer en 1999 son site populaire, wineanorak.com. Basé à Londres, Jamie Goode écrit depuis 2005 pour des journaux britanniques tels The Sunday Express, The World of Fine Wine, Wine Business International, Wines and Vines, Sommelier Journal, The Drinks Business et Imbibe. Il est aussi actif comme conférencier, membre du jury des concours des vins et coprésident du Challenge International du Vin. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs livres, y compris The Science of Wine, Authentic Wine, I Taste Red et Flawless.

Jamie Goode
RosaKruger.png

Rosa Kruger est depuis les 20 dernières années cheffe de culture de plusieurs caves. Elle est  impliquée dans le design de nouveaux vignobles et la gestion de vignobles existants qui produisent du vin de qualité. Chaque année elle visite les vignobles les plus intéressants du monde entier afin de se tenir au courant de ce qu’il faut faire pour faire du bon vin.

Rosa Kruger
Gabriel_Lepousez.png

Expert de renommée internationale dans le domaine de la perception sensorielle et de la plasticité cérébrale, Gabriel Lepousez est titulaire d’un doctorat en neuroscience de l’Université de la Sorbonne à Paris. Il est aujourd’hui chercheur dans l’Unité Perception et Mémoire de l’Institut Pasteur.Outre ses conférences internationales et sa participation à des programmes d’éducation des vins, il a cofondé en 2016 L’École du Nez, une association qui offre aux professionnels du vin une formation en neuroenologie, c’est-à-dire enseigner le rôle du cerveau lors de la dégustation de vin et comment améliorer notre perception sensorielle. Gabriel est membre de l’Académie Amorim depuis 2018. En 2022, il rejoint le comité de dégustation de La Revue du Vin de France.

Gabriel Lepousez
JohannBurger.png

Johan Burger est professeur au Département de génétique de l’Université de Stellenbosch où il enseigne la génétique moléculaire au niveau du premier cycle. Son équipe de recherche est composée d’étudiants diplômés, stagiaires postdoctoraux et un chercheur chevronné. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur la caractérisation moléculaire des interactions plantes-parasites et son équipe jouit d’une renommée internationale pour son travail sur l’étiologie des maladies virales ou des maladies analogues aux maladies virales des vignes et des cultures fruitières, ainsi que le séquençage génomique des cépages. Les recherches incluent l’application de techniques de l’édition du génome afin d’améliorer la tolérance d’un nombre de cultures alimentaires et fruitières aux stress abiotiques et biotiques. Un grand nombre de ces projets de recherches sont menés en collaboration avec des consortiums internationaux.

Johann Burger
PatriceThis.png

Patrice This est responsable de l’équipe Diversité, Adaptation et Amélioration de la Vigne chez INRAE (Institut national de recherches pour l’agriculture, l’alimentation et l’environnement, anciennement INRA). C’est un expert reconnu internationalement dans le domaine de la diversité génétique des cépages et de l’analyse de la base génétique des caractéristiques agricoles. Il utilise actuellement les données relatives à la séquence du génome pour analyser la diversité génétique intra et inter variétale à l’échelle du génome entier.

Patrice This
VirginieGrondain.png

Virginie Grondain est technicienne à l’Institut Français de la Vigne et du Vin au Pôle Val de Loire-Centre. Elle travaille sur la conservation des cépages, la sélection de nouveaux clones, la création de nouvelles variétés et la distribution de matériel végétal.

Virginie Grondain
Tara.png

Passionnée du climat et des réactions du règne végétale, Tara Southey est cheffe de projet à TerraClim. Depuis quelques années elle se spécialise en agrométéorologie.

Elle a un poste postdoctoral de cheffe de projet à TerraClim, projet phare de l’industrie vinicole qui vise à mieux comprendre le climat unique de la région du Cap occidental. Tara est en train de développer une base de données sur le climat, SIG, la télédétection et la culture dans le but d’offrir aux agriculteurs un outil d’aide à la décision en termes de changements climatiques.  

Tara Southey
JonathanSteyn.png

Jonathan Steyn possède bien des qualifications, y compris un master international en gestion et marketing de l’entreprise vitivinicole et un doctorat en gestion d’entreprise de l’École supérieure de commerce de l’Université du Cap (UCT GSB). I Ses intérêts de recherche actuels incluent le marketing stratégique, le comportement des consommateurs, la commercialisation et le marketing internationaux, l’innovation collaborative et les stratégies méta-organisationnelles. Il gère un programme de recherche collaboratif sur l’industrie vitivinicole à UCT GSB, et ses articles d’opinion sont régulièrement publiés dans les médias grand public tel Business Day. En tant qu’ancien directeur de restaurants, juré pour concours de vin et critique gastronomique et chroniqueur, Jonathan est bel et bien un expert du vin et de l’industrie hôtelière. En tant que stratège en marketing et commercialisation, Jonathan soutient les méta-organisations par l’intermédiaire de son agence de stratégie, Collectivantage.  

Jonathan Steyn
WesselduToit.png

Wessel du Toit est actuellement chef du Département de viticulture et d’œnologie à l’Université de Stellenbosch où il enseigne la production vinicole et la chimie du vin. Ses recherches portent sur l’oxydation du vin, l’analyse sensorielle des vins et les composés phénoliques dans le vin rouge. Il collabore avec des chercheurs de plusieurs universités du monde entier. Wessel a géré avec succès un grand nombre de projets de recherche, notamment sur le Chenin blanc, qui incluent des recherches sur les composés de soufre du Chenin blanc.

Wessel du Toit
Melane Vivier.png

Melané Vivier est professeur au Département de viticulture et d’œnologie à l’Université de Stellenbosch et au South African Grape and Wine Reseach Institute (SAGWRI). Elle est cheffe de programme du groupe Biologie moléculaire et biotechnologie de la vigne ainsi que directrice par intérim du SAGWRI. Son groupe de recherche se concentre sur la recherche intégrative, en particulier sur l’évaluation des processus étudiés dans une approche systémique en se focalisant sur le profilage moléculaire et métabolite des vignes dans la nature.

Melané Vivier
TalithaVenter.png

Talitha Venter enseigne la pratique de la viticulture au Département de viticulture et

d’œnologie à l’Université de Stellenbosch. Elle a une bonne connaissance de l’industrie ayant été impliquée dans la gestion des vignobles pendant plus de dix ans. Ses recherches portent sur la viticulture numérique et elle gère un projet dans ce domaine depuis trois ans.

Talitha travaille présentement sur sa thèse de doctorat sur le contrôle non destructif de la qualité des raisins de table. Elle est impliquée dans le rétablissement et la gestion des Welgevallen Training and Research Vineyards qui appartiennent à l’Université de Stellenbosch. Le Chenin blanc est au cœur de ces vignobles. Parmi les vignobles plantés en chenin, il y en a un qui est consacré à démontrer différents types de treillage et un autre où des systèmes d’irrigation sont testés.

Talitha Venter
Marisah Nieuwoudt.png

Marisah Nieuwoudt est responsable du tourisme du vin à Vinpro. Elle se concentre sur le développement commercial, la recherche, le marketing et la promotion. Marisah possède une longue expérience en tourisme et marketing, communication, relations avec les médias et relations commerciales et gestion numérique des comptes. Elle a un diplôme en Gestion du tourisme (mention très bien) du Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) et elle étudie pour obtenir un master en Géographie du Tourisme à l’Université de Stellenbosch. En 2016 elle est élue membre du jury des prix de de l’Organisation mondiale du tourisme (OMT) pour l’excellence. Elle participe au Forum des routes du vin d’Afrique du Sud et fait aussi partie du comité directeur du réseau des Capitales de Grands Vignobles (Great Wine Capitals).

Marisah Niewoudt
JanineBrand.png

Jeanne Brand détient un doctorat en biotechnologie (centré sur l’évaluation sensorielle du vin) de l’Université de Stellenbosch. Sa spécialité est l’élaboration et la modification des méthodes sensorielles rapides destinées à l’évaluation des vins. Elle s’intéresse à combiner différentes types de données sensorielles à des données relatives à la qualité, aux consommateurs et à la chimie par une analyse statistique avancée. Jeanne vise à fournir des solutions sensorielles adaptées à l’industrie du vin, fondées sur des recherches scientifiques.

Jeanne Brand
EtienneNeethling.png

Originaire d’Afrique du Sud, Etienne Neethling a étudié la viticulture et l’œnologie à l’Université de Stellenbosch avant de se rendre en France en 2008 pour y poursuivre ses études de master et de doctorat. Il est actuellement enseignant-chercheur à l’École Supérieure d’Agricultures d’Angers, où il fait des recherches axées sur l’adaptation du secteur vitivinicole aux changements climatiques. Etienne est directeur du programme international de master en gestion de la vigne, du vin et du terroir et expert OIV au sein du groupe ENVIRO.

Etienne Neethling

Stephanie Midgley détient un Master en Sciences horticoles de l’Université de Stellenbosch et un doctorat en Botanique de l’Université du Cap (UCT). Elle a plus de 30 ans d’expérience en recherche et politique en matière de changement climatique et de son incidence sur l’agriculture en Afrique du Sud et en Afrique australe. Son principal champ d’expertise est les technologies de production agricoles dans le but d’améliorer le rendement, la qualité des produits et l’efficacité de l’utilisation de l’eau et de réduire les risques climatiques. Elle a dirigé le projet du plan SmartAgri visant le secteur agricole du Cap occidental.

En janvier 2021, le professeur Midgley a été nommée comme chercheuse en Changement climatique et évaluation des risques au sein du département d’Agriculture du Cap occidental. Elle est professeure agrégée extraordinaire à la faculté Agro-scientifique de l’Université de Stellenbosch. 

Stephanie Midgley
Stefanie.png

Stephanie Midgley détient un Master en Sciences horticoles de l’Université de Stellenbosch et un doctorat en Botanique de l’Université du Cap (UCT). Elle a plus de 30 ans d’expérience en recherche et politique en matière de changement climatique et de son incidence sur l’agriculture en Afrique du Sud et en Afrique australe. Son principal champ d’expertise est les technologies de production agricoles dans le but d’améliorer le rendement, la qualité des produits et l’efficacité de l’utilisation de l’eau et de réduire les risques climatiques. Elle a dirigé le projet du plan SmartAgri visant le secteur agricole du Cap occidental.

En janvier 2021, le professeur Midgley a été nommée comme chercheuse en Changement climatique et évaluation des risques au sein du département d’Agriculture du Cap occidental. Elle est professeure agrégée extraordinaire à la faculté Agro-scientifique de l’Université de Stellenbosch. 

Stephanie Midgley
HeleneNiewoudt.png

Helene Niewoudt est chercheuse principale attachée au South African Grape and Wine Research Institute (SAGWRI), et au Département de viticulture et d’œnologie de l’Université de Stellenbosch. Elle collabore activement avec la Chenin Blanc Association. Helene gère depuis plus de 10 ans des projets de recherches portant sur le Chenin blanc. Elle a publié, en collaboration avec son réseau international de recherche, de nombreux articles sur la chimie des saveurs du Chenin blanc, le traitement des données, les caractéristiques sensorielles du vin et les perceptions des consommateurs. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur le carrousel des arômes du Chenin blanc et les perceptions sensorielles associées aux Chenin blanc par des buveurs de vin non anglophones.

Hélène Niewoudt

Partenaires

Les partenaires du Deuxième Congrès International du Chenin blanc réunissent experts et acteurs des régions viticoles en Afrique du Sud – scientifiques, universitaires, commerçants, critiques, experts du tourisme du vin et sommeliers – avec leurs homologues de France, Australie, Californie, Inde et Israël, entre autres. Ce congrès offrira une plateforme de discussion et de débat, d’exploration et d’apprentissage et, enfin, de découverte des expressions uniques de Chenin blanc provenant du monde entier. Parmi nos partenaires figurent des délégations de la vallée de la Loire, terre ancestrale du Chenin blanc.

ème

1

22

26

ème

Le cépage le plus planté en Afrique du Sud, premier pays producteur mondial de Chenin blanc.
Pays producteurs
Cépage mondial

Sources : InterLoire, France AgriMer