THE CHENIN BLANC IN A CHANGING ENVIRONMENT

This international congress promises to be the must-attend event for the Chenin Blanc.
Three days of debates and meetings between scientists and professionals: conferences and round tables on the future of the Chenin Blanc in the face of the environmental, climatic, economic, societal and cultural challenges of the 21st century.
The congress participants will also have the opportunity to take part in tastings of Chenins from around the world and to discover the vineyards of the Loire Valley.

2019 ORGANIZERS
DESTIN~3.JPG
Logo_académie_du_chenin.jpg
PARTNERS
CBA logo high res-1.jpg
Logo_université_de_Stellenbosch_basse_de
Logo interloire institutionnel.png
FVAS.jpg
Logo FAV3772.PNG
SUPPORT
Logo_angers_congrès_Techno_et_usages_Ang
LOGO_ALM_CU_V1.png
rvbregion_0.jpg
Logo_Vegepolys.gif
ESA PNG.png
Logo_MVL_PROV.png
UNDER THE AEGIS OF 
ISHS.png
UNDER THE PATRONAGE OF
LogoOIV_patronage_FR.png

th

3

Grape variety of the Loire Valley

22

Producer countries

26

th

world grape variety

Sources: InterLoire, France AgriMer

2019 EDITION

THE CHENIN IN A CHANGING ENVIRONMENT

President's message

We are pleased to remind you that the "Ist Chenin blanc International Congress" is approaching and will take place in Angers on July 1, 2 and 3, 2019.

This first edition is co-organised by the Académie du chenin and Destination Angers in partnership with Interloire, the Anjou Saumur Wine Federation, the Federation of Wine Associations of Indre et Loire and Sarthe, the University of Stellenbosch and the South African Chenin Blanc Association.

The congress highlights the Chenin Blanc grape variety, its versatility, its singularity and its terroirs. With an international dimension, it is a place for meetings and debates on the future of Chenin Blanc in the face of the challenges of world viticulture, environmental, climatic, economic, societal and cultural challenges of the 21st century.

You will find on the website: www.cbic2019.com the programme that has been built by the international scientific committee according to these issues and highlights a diversity of responses that should give rise to exciting debates and exchanges.

This program will be accompanied by an exceptional tasting of several hundred chenins from all over the world.

Finally, in the afternoon, we propose different possibilities of visits related to the themes of the Congress, in the most beautiful areas of the Loire Valley: climate change will be discussed in relation to the problems of the Quarts de Chaume Appellation, a grand cru of sweet wines, the reading of a landscape shaped by Chenin in the context of the UNESCO World Heritage site at Savennières, etc...

On Monday evening, a cocktail party in Angers will allow you to meet chenin enthusiasts from all over the world over a glass of chenin in a friendly and informal way! Tuesday evening: you will be able to take part in a gala evening in the sumptuous setting of the Royal Abbey of Fontevraud during which the chefs will use their imagination to compose the finest dishes in harmony with the great chenins of the world.

Logo_académie_du_chenin.jpg

Evelyn de Pontbriand

President of the Chenin Blanc International Congress

President of the Chenin Academy

LE CHENIN BLANC DANS UN ENVIRONNEMENT EN MUTATION

Ce congrès international s'annonce comme le rendez-vous incontournable du chenin blanc.
Trois jours de débats et de rencontres entre scientifiques et professionnels : des conférences et tables rondes sur l'avenir du chenin blanc face aux défis environnementaux, climatiques, économiques, sociétaux et culturels du XXI° siècle.
Les congressistes auront également l’occasion de participer à des dégustations de chenins du monde et de découvrir le vignoble du Val de Loire.

ORGANISATEURS
DESTIN~3.JPG
Logo_académie_du_chenin.jpg
PARTENAIRES
CBA logo high res-1.jpg
Logo_université_de_Stellenbosch_basse_de
Logo interloire institutionnel.png
FVAS.jpg
Logo FAV3772.PNG
SOUTIENS
Logo_angers_congrès_Techno_et_usages_Ang
LOGO_ALM_CU_V1.png
rvbregion_0.jpg
Logo_Vegepolys.gif
ESA PNG.png
Logo_MVL_PROV.png
SOUS L'EGIDE DE 
ISHS.png
SOUS LE PATRONAGE DE
LogoOIV_patronage_FR.png

ème

3

Cépage du Val de Loire

22

Pays producteurs

26

ème

Cépage mondial

Sources : InterLoire, France AgriMer

EDITION 2019

LE CHENIN DANS UN ENVIRONNEMENT EN MUTATION

Le mot de la Présidente

Nous avons le plaisir de vous rappeler que le « Ist Chenin blanc International Congress" approche et aura  lieu à Angers, les 1, 2 et 3 juillet 2019.

Cette première édition est co-organisée par l’Académie du chenin et Destination Angers en partenariat avec Interloire, la Fédération Viticole d’Anjou Saumur, la Fédération des Associations Viticoles d’Indre et Loire et de la Sarthe, l’Université de Stellenbosch et la South African Chenin Blanc Association.

Le congrès  met  en avant le cépage chenin blanc, sa versatilité, sa singularité et ses terroirs. De dimension internationale, il est un lieu de rencontres et de débats sur l’avenir du Chenin blanc face aux défis de la viticulture mondiale, défis environnementaux, climatiques, économiques, sociétaux et culturels du XXI° siècle.

Ce congrès professionnel s’inscrit dans la continuité de l’ Université du chenin à l'Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud en 2003  et de la journée d’étude sur le chenin blanc de 2015 (Musée de la Vigne et du vin, St Lambert du Lattay).

Vous trouverez sur le site internet : www.cbic2019.com le programme qui a été construit par le comité scientifique international en fonction de ces enjeux et met en valeur une diversité des réponses qui devrait donner lieu à des débats et des échanges  passionnants.

Ce programme sera accompagné d’une dégustation exceptionnelle de plusieurs centaines de chenins du monde entier.

Enfin, nous proposons l’après-midi, différentes possibilités de visites liées aux thèmes du Congrès, dans les plus beaux terroirs de Loire: le changement climatique sera discuté face à  la problématique de l’Appellation Quarts de Chaume, grand cru de liquoreux, la lecture d’un paysage façonné par le chenin dans le cadre du site inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco à Savennières, etc…

Le lundi soir, une soirée cocktail à Angers vous permettra de rencontrer de manière conviviale et informelle des passionnés de chenin du monde entier autour d’un verre de chenin ! Le mardi soir : vous pourrez participer à une soirée de gala dans le cadre somptueux de  l’Abbaye Royale de  Fontevraud durant laquelle les chefs feront preuve d’imagination pour composer les mets les plus fins en accord avec les grands chenins du monde.

Logo_académie_du_chenin.jpg

Evelyne de Pontbriand

Présidente du Chenin Blanc International Congress

Présidente de l’Académie du Chenin