A HISTORY OF COLLABORATIOIN

South Africa, now the largest producer of Chenin Blanc wines in the world, has the privilege to host the 2nd International Chenin Congress from 1 - 3 November 2022 in Stellenbosch, South Africa. The birth of the Chenin Congress is based on a lovely story of friendship between the producers of Chenin in South Africa and France and their history of collaboration to preserve and grow this noble varietal.

 

The South African Chenin Blanc Association was formed in 2000 and ever since there has been cooperation and networking with Loire producers. In 2003 they collaborated to present the Le Rendez-vous du Chenin at Fontevraud Abbey, Loire Valley, France under the auspices of the Union des Oenologues de France. And in September 2016, a research exchange and networking meeting was held at Domaine du Closel in Savennières, France for discussions between the Chenin Blanc Association, the University of Stellenbosch and various French research organisations.

 

South Africa was represented by Dr Hélène Nieuwoudt a senior researcher, Institute for Wine Biotechnology, Stellenbosch University and Ina Smith, Manager of the Chenin blanc Association at the meeting organised by Evelyne de Pontbriand, proprietor of Domaine du Closel, Savennières. Following this, a meeting took place in Savennières in November 2016, culminating in the creation of the Académie du Chenin, officially supported by The City of Angers. Evelyne de Pontbriand (Domaine du Closel Château des Vaults) was appointed as president of the Académie du Chenin.

 

In 2017, Evelyne de Pontbriand made a visit to South Africa to meet with executive members of the Chenin Association, and the first International Chenin Congress was held in Angers 1-3 July 2019, where 45 South African researchers and producers attended.

Thus, the Chenin Blanc Association and the University of Stellenbosch contributed to the establishment and execution of first International Chenin Congress.

L'HISTOIRE D'UNE COLLABORATION

L’Afrique du Sud, actuellement le premier producteur Mondial de Chenin blanc, a l’honneur d’accueillir le deuxième Congrès International du Chenin blanc du 1er au 3 novembre 2022 à Stellenbosch en Afrique du Sud. Le Congrès doit son origine à une belle histoire d’amitié entre les producteurs de Chenin en Afrique du Sud et en France et à leur mission de préserver et de cultiver ce noble cépage.

La Chenin blanc Association of South Africa  créée en 2000, collabore depuis lors avec des producteurs de la région de la Loire et elle continue à y établir des réseaux de contacts. En 2003, l’Association et les producteurs ligériens présentent Le Rendez-vous du Chenin à l’Abbaye de Fontevraud au cœur du Val de Loire, orchestré par l’Union des Œnologues de France. En septembre 2006, une réunion a lieu en France au Domaine du Closel à Savennières, pour promouvoir les échanges de recherches et le réseautage entre la Chenin Blanc Association, l’Université de Stellenbosch et différents organismes de recherche français.

À cette rencontre organisée par Evelyne de Pontbriand, propriétaire du Domaine du Closel, Savennières, l’Afrique du Sud est représentée par Hélène Nieuwoudt, chercheuse chevronnée à l’Institut de la Biotechnologie du vin, Université de Stellenbosch et par Ina Smith, directrice de la Chenin blanc Association. Une seconde rencontre a lieu à Savennières en novembre 2016 aboutissant à la création de l’Académie du Chenin, officiellement soutenue par la ville d’Angers. Evelyne de Pontbriand (Domaine du Closel Château des Vaults) est élue présidente de l’Académie du Chenin.   

En 2017, Evelyne de Pontbriand se rend en Afrique du Sud afin de rencontrer les membres du comité de direction de la Chenin blanc Association et deux ans plus tard le premier Congrès International du Chenin blanc a lieu à Anger du 1er au 3 juillet 2019. Quarante-cinq producteurs et chercheurs sud-africains sont présents. La Chenin blanc Association et l’Université de Stellenbosch ont ainsi contribué à la création et à l’exécution du premier Congrès International du Chenin blanc.